## **Judicial Merit Selection Commission**

Sen. Larry A. Martin, Chairman Rep. Alan D. Clemmons, Vice-Chairman Sen. George E. Campsen, III Sen. Gerald Malloy Rep. Bruce W. Bannister Rep. David J. Mack, III Kristian C. Bell Joseph Preston Strom, Jr. Susan T. Wall Robert M. Wilcox



Counsel: Erin B. Crawford Patrick Dennis

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

## MEDIA RELEASE March 9. 2015

The Public Hearing for the Judicial Merit Selection Commission has been scheduled to begin Friday, April 24, 2015, with the hearing commencing at 9 a.m. regarding the qualifications of the following candidates for judicial positions:

Supreme Court

Chief Justice The Honorable Costa M. Pleicones, Columbia, SC

**Family Court** 

4th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable Bryan W. Braddock, Hartsville, SC

The Honorable Cely A. Brigman, Darlington, SC Elizabeth R. Munnerlyn, Bennettsville, SC

Persons desiring to testify at public hearings shall furnish written notarized statements of proposed testimony. These statements must be received by **Noon, Friday, April 10, 2015**. The Commission has witness affidavit forms that may be used for proposed testimony. While this form is not mandatory, it will be supplied on request. Statements should be mailed or delivered to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Jaynie Jordan, 102 Gressette Building, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, SC, 29202.

All testimony, including documents furnished to the Commission, must be submitted under oath. Persons knowingly giving false information, either orally or in writing, shall be subject to penalty.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, you may access the website at <a href="https://www.scstatehouse.gov/html-pages/judmerit.html">www.scstatehouse.gov/html-pages/judmerit.html</a>.

Questions concerning the hearing and procedures should be directed to the Commission at (803) 212-6623.